State Level Resources

Below you will find resources for each state.  Items such contact information trail management agencies, rules and regulations for OHV use in the state and information on places to ride OHVs.

Select a State:

Alabama

No contact information at this time.

 

Alaska

Alaska OHV Contact Information

Alaska Department of Natural Resources
Division of Parks & Outdoor Recreation
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1380
Anchorage, AK 99501

 

Alaska State Trails Program Coordinator

Darcy Harris: 907-269-8699
SEE Committee
darcy.harris@alaska.gov

 

Arizona

Arizona OHV Contact Information

Arizona Game & Fish Department
5000 W Carefree Hwy
Phoenix, AZ 85086

 

Boating & OHV Safety Education Program Manager

Kim Jackson: 623-236-7237
Member-at-Large / SEE Committee
kjackson@azgfd.gov

 

Wildlife Enforcement Program Coordinator

Mark Stewart: 623-236-7931
mstewart@azgfd.gov

 

OHV Safety Education Coordinator

Matthew Eberhart: 623-236-7384
meberhart@azgfd.gov

 

Game Ranger / Public Information Officer

Rueben Gonzales: 623-236-7223
SEE Committee / Awards and Nominations Committee
rgonzales@azgfd.gov

 

Colorado

Colorado OHV Contact Information

Colorado State Parks
13787 S Hwy 85
Littleton, CO 80125

 

OHV Program Manager / Snowmobile Program Manager

Tom Metsa: 303-791-1957
thomas.metsa@state.co.us

 

Florida

Florida OHV Contact Information

Florida Office of Greenways & Trails
3900 Commonwealth Boulevard
Mail Station 795
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3000

 

Recreational Trails Program Administrator

Vacant: 850-245-2065
Southeast Region Chair

Idaho

Idaho OHV Contact Information

Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation
5657 Warm Springs Ave
Boise, ID 83716

 

OHV Program Manager

Troy Elmore: 208-514-2411
Western Region Chair //By-Laws Chair
troy.elmore@idpr.idaho.gov

 

Illinois

Illinois OHV Contact Information

1 Natural Resources Way
Springfield, IL 62702

 

Greenways and Trails Outreach Coordinator

Amy Madigan: 217-782-3715
amy.madigan@illinois.gov

 

Indiana

Indiana OHV Contact Information

Indiana Department of Natural Resources
14619 West State Road 48
Jasonville, IN 47438

 

ORV Project Manager

Caman Jackson: 812-562-0103
Vice Chair / Planning Committee Chair / Awards and Nominations Committee
cjackson@dnr.in.gov

 

Iowa

Iowa OHV Contact Information

Iowa Department of Natural Resources
502 E 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319

 

OHV Program Coordinator, State Parks Bureau

Rhonda Fowler: 515-725-8490
Secretary/Treasurer / Chair Financial Survey / Website / Awards
rhonda.fowler@dnr.iowa.gov

 

Kentucky

Kentucky OHV Contact Information

Kentucky Department for Local Government
1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 340
Frankfort, KY 40601

 

Recreational Trails Administrator

Jodie Williams: 800-346-5606
Trails Committee
jodie.williams@ky.gov

Maine

Maine OHV Contact Information

Maine Department of Agriculture Conservation and Forestry
Harlow Building, 2nd Floor
18 Elkins Lane, 22 House Station
Augusta, ME 04333

 

Recreation Safety and Vehicle Coordinator, Bureau of Parks and Lands

Brian Bronson: 207-287-4958
Northeast Region Chair / Awards and Nominations Chair / Trails Committee
brian.n.bronson@maine.gov

 

Massachusetts

Massachusetts OHV Contact Information

Massachusetts Environmental Police
251 Causeway Street, Suite 101
Boston, MA 02114

 

Captain, Special Operations Section

Merri Walker: 617-626-1650
SEE Committee
merri.walker@state.ma.us

 

Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation
251 Causeway Street
Boston, MA 02114

 

Michigan

Michigan OHV Contact Information

Michigan Department of Natural Resources
PO Box 30257
Lansing, MI 48909

 

Recreation and Trails Program Coordinator, Parks and Recreation Division

Vacant: 517-373-1665
Awards and Nominations Committee

 

UP Trails Analyst

Rob Katona: 906-228-6561
Member-at-Large / Trails Committee
katonar@michigan.gov

 

ORV & Snowmobile Coordinator, Law Enforcement Division

John Morey: 989-619-3784
SEE Committee
moreyj1@michigan.gov

 

Minnesota

Minnesota OHV Contact Information

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
1601 Minnesota Drive
Brainerd, MN 56401

 

OHV Program Manager

Mary Straka: 218 833-8713
Trails Committee Chair
mary.straka@state.mn.us

 

OHV Grants Manager

Traci Vibo: 651 259-5619
traci.vibo@state.mn.us

 

OHV Safety and Education Coordinator

Bruce Lawrence: (763) 753-1887
bruce.lawrence@state.mn.us

 

Minnesota Rules & Regulations as follows…

  • Registration is required for all in-state machines
  • A Trail Pass is required for all out-of-state riders regardless of the OHV type. These can be purchased at most gas stations or sporting stores in the same location as hunting and fishing licenses.
  • Helmets are required for all children under the age of 18 on an ATV, OHM, or ROV as a rider/driver or passenger.
  • The minimum age requirement for a Class I ATV is 10 years old on a 90cc unit; or age 16 for a Class II ATV (ROV).

Visit our Full OHV Rulebook

Minnesota also accepts national OHV training programs: MSF Dirtbike School, ASI RiderCourse and ROHVA DriverCourse.

 

Missouri

Missouri OHV Contact Information

Missouri State Parks
1505 E Peabody Rd
Columbia, MO 65202

 

Park Superintendent

Debbie Newby: 573-443-5315
debbie.newby@dnr.mo.gov

 

Montana

Montana OHV Contact Information

Montana State Parks
PO Box 200701
Helena, MT 56920

 

OHV Program Manager

Seth McArthur: 406-444-3753
smcarthur@mt.gov

Nevada

Nevada OHV Contact Information

Nevada Off-Highway Vehicles Program
901 S Stewart Street
Carson City, NV 89701

Program Manager

Nikhil Narkhede: 775-684-2794
NNarkhede@ohv.nv.gov

Navada Regulations & Trails
https://ohv.nv.gov/

 

New Hampshire

New Hampshire OHV Contact Information

New Hampshire Department of Resources & Economic Development
172 Pembroke Road
PO Box 1856
Concord, NH 03302

 

Chief Supervisor, Bureau of Trails

Chris Gamache: 603-271-3254
Chair INOHVAA
Christopher.Gamache@dncr.nh.gov

 

New Mexico

New Mexico OHV Contact Information

New Mexico Department of Game & Fish
3841 Midway Place NE
Albuquerque, NM 87109

 

OHV Education Coordinator

Chris Johnson: (505) 222-4712
christopher.johnson@state.nm.us

 

New Mexico Rules & Regulations as follows…

  • All OHV operators under the age of 18 must wear a DOT approved helmet and goggles or safety glasses when operating an OHV on public land.
  • All OHV operators under the age of 18 must complete an OHV safety course prior to riding on public land.
  • New Mexico has very specific age appropriate size-fit standards for youth operators.

Visit our Full OHV Rulebook

If you have any questions please feel free to call (505) 222-4712.

 

North Dakota

North Dakota OHV Contact Information

North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department
1600 E Century Ave, Suite 3
Bismarck, ND 58503

 

Recreation Division Manager

Matthew Gardner: 701-328-5384
Legislative Committee
msgardner@nd.gov

 

Motorized Recreation Coordinator

Erik Dietrich: 701-328-5366
North Central Region Chair / Website Committee Chair / Legislative Committee
erdietrich@nd.gov

 

Pembina Gorge State Recreation Area, Project Manager

Mike Duerre: 701-549-2444
Planning Committee
mduere@nd.gov

 

Oregon

Oregon OHV Contact Information

Oregon Department of Forestry
5005 Third Street
Tillamook, OR 97141

 

OHV Specialist, Tillamook District

Reid Brown & Mike Law: 503-815-7024
reid.a.brown@oregon.gov
mike.law@oregon.gov

 

ATV Program Lead

Ian Caldwell: 503-815-7024
ian.caldwell@oregon.gov

 

Safety Education Coordinator

Jeff Trejo: 503-815-7024
jeff.trejo@oregon.gov

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania OHV Contact Information

Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
400 Market Street, 6th Floor RCSOB
Harrisburg, PA 17101

 

Division Chief

Karl Maul: 717-787-3018
kmaul@pa.gov

 

Natural Resource Program Specialist

Todd Miller
todmiller@pa.gov

 

Tennessee

Tennessee OHV Contact Information

Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation – Trails Program
312 Rosa L. Parks Ave, 2nd Floor
WR Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
Nashville, TN 37243

 

Greenways and Trails Program Coordinator

Vacant: 615-532-0753
Trails Committee

 

Texas

Texas OHV Contact Information

Texas Parks & Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Road
Austin, TX 78744

 

State Parks Trails Coordinator

Trey Cooksey: 512-389-8743
Legislative Committee
albert.cooksey@tpwd.texas.gov

 

OHV Program Coordinator

Erica Keller: 512-538-4427
Chair South Central Region / Legislative Committee
Erica.Keller@tpwd.texas.gov

 

Utah

Utah OHV Contact Information

Utah Division of State Parks and Recreation
PO Box 146001
1594 North Temple, Suite 116
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001

 

OHV Program Manager

Chris Haller: 801-349-0487
Planning Committee
chrishaller@utah.gov

 

Vermont

Vermont OHV Contact Information

Vermont ATV Sportsman’s Association
14 Don Camp Drive
Barre, VT 05641

 

Executive Director, VT ATV Sportman’s Association

Danny Hale: 802-477-5075
Trails Committee
director@vtvasa.org

 

Wisconsin

Wisconsin OHV Contact Information

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
101 S Webster St
PO Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707

 

Recreational Safety and Outdoor Skills Section Chief / Acting ATV / Snowmobile Administrator

April Dombrowski: 608-852-9456
April.dombrowski@wisconsin.gov

 

Wyoming

Wyoming OHV Contact Information

Trails Manager

Ron McKinney: 303-332-5036
ron.mckinney@wyo.gov